<HTML>
<HEAD>
<META content="text/html; charset=utf-8" http-equiv=Content-Type>
<META content="OPENWEBMAIL" name=GENERATOR>
</HEAD>
<BODY bgColor=#ffffff>
<font size="3">aloha, all!
<br />
<br />the Open Accessibility Workgroup's portal page on the Linux Foundation 
<br />site, which can be reached via the short URI:
<br />
<br /><a href="http://a11y.org/">http://a11y.org</a>
<br />
<br />has been criticized in the past for being too cluttered, especially 
<br />given the Linux Foundation's current wrapping template...  therefore,
<br />i was given an action item to mock up a streamlined version of the page 
<br />for the workgroup's consideration; this i did, and alerted the Workgroup 
<br />via email [1], asking workgroup members to review the streamlined version 
<br />of the front page portal located at:
<br /><a href="http://www.linuxfoundation.org/en/Accessibility/ScratchPad/FrontPage/MissionMoved2">
<br />http://www.linuxfoundation.org/en/Accessibility/ScratchPad/FrontPage/MissionMoved2</a>
<br />
<br />and to provide feedback and suggestions by replying-to my post on-list...
<br />
<br />steve lee responded with some very constructive comments [2] which i 
<br />incorporated into the simplified front page [3], and the Workgroup was 
<br />supposed to vote on approval of the new front page at today's Open 
<br />A11y conference call...  today's conference call failed to yield a 
<br />quorum, so janina has asked me in my guise as the Workgroup's webmaster,
<br />to put out a 48 hour CALL FOR CONSENSUS on the modified version of Open 
<br />A11y's portal page -- if anyone for any reason OBJECTS to the new, 
<br />simpler version, please let the rest of the workgroup know by posting 
<br />the reasons for your objections to this list:
<br />
<br />accessibility@lists.freestandards.org
<br />
<br />BY 2300h UTC THURSDAY, 13 NOVEMBER 2008 -- which translates into:
<br />
<br /> * Midnight Thursday/Friday Berlin
<br /> * 11 PM London
<br /> * 5 PM EST;
<br /> * 4 PM CST; 
<br /> * 3 PM MST;
<br /> * 2 PM PST; 
<br /> * 7 AM on 2008-11-14 in Beijing;
<br /> * 10 AM on 2008-11-14 in Melbourne;
<br />
<br />thank you, gregory.
<br />
<br />References:
<br />[1] <a href="https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002440.html">https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002440.html</a>
<br />[2] <a href="https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002441.html">https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002441.html</a>
<br />[3] <a href="https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002442.html">https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002442.html</a>
<br />-------------------------------------------------------
<br />lex parsimoniae:
<br /> * entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem.
<br />-------------------------------------------------------
<br />the law of succinctness:
<br /> * entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity.
<br />-------------------------------------------------------
<br />Gregory J. Rosmaita, gregory@linuxfoundation.org
<br />        Camera Obscura: <a href="http://www.hicom.net/~oedipus/">http://www.hicom.net/~oedipus/</a>
<br />-------------------------------------------------------</font>
</BODY>
</HTML>