[Accessibility] 48 Hour Consensus Call: Open A11y's portal page

Gregory J. Rosmaita oedipus at hicom.net
Tue Nov 11 14:40:51 PST 2008

aloha, all!

the Open Accessibility Workgroup's portal page on the Linux Foundation 
site, which can be reached via the short URI:


has been criticized in the past for being too cluttered, especially 
given the Linux Foundation's current wrapping template...  therefore,
i was given an action item to mock up a streamlined version of the page 
for the workgroup's consideration; this i did, and alerted the Workgroup 
via email [1], asking workgroup members to review the streamlined version 
of the front page portal located at:


and to provide feedback and suggestions by replying-to my post on-list...

steve lee responded with some very constructive comments [2] which i 
incorporated into the simplified front page [3], and the Workgroup was 
supposed to vote on approval of the new front page at today's Open 
A11y conference call...  today's conference call failed to yield a 
quorum, so janina has asked me in my guise as the Workgroup's webmaster,
to put out a 48 hour CALL FOR CONSENSUS on the modified version of Open 
A11y's portal page -- if anyone for any reason OBJECTS to the new, 
simpler version, please let the rest of the workgroup know by posting 
the reasons for your objections to this list:

accessibility at lists.freestandards.org

BY 2300h UTC THURSDAY, 13 NOVEMBER 2008 -- which translates into:

 * Midnight Thursday/Friday Berlin
 * 11 PM London
 * 5 PM EST;
 * 4 PM CST; 
 * 3 PM MST;
 * 2 PM PST; 
 * 7 AM on 2008-11-14 in Beijing;
 * 10 AM on 2008-11-14 in Melbourne;

thank you, gregory.

[1] https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002440.html
[2] https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002441.html
[3] https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/2008-November/002442.html
lex parsimoniae:
 * entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem.
the law of succinctness:
 * entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity.
Gregory J. Rosmaita, gregory at linuxfoundation.org
        Camera Obscura: http://www.hicom.net/~oedipus/
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/accessibility/attachments/20081111/61c13175/attachment-0001.htm 

More information about the Accessibility mailing list